Celebrity relationships – Is there one, seriously one, that will work?!

 

I challenge you to name one celebrity relationship that has stood the test of time, bumps in the road and paparazzi intrusion – who can you say has stood together as a unit, showing that they have a bind that not even Hollywood can break? In light on the TomKat divorce revelation, not that I can say I’m surprised, oh and Johnny Deep and Vanessa Paradis, it only further reinforces to me that Hollywood marriages just can’t stand the heat in the kitchen!

Well I’ll concede to Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell, who have been in relationship since 1983, which is practically a lifetime by Hollywood standards, however they never officially married – maybe that’s the trick??

Ahh, I have thought of one, it took a lot of time and a little bit of help from Google, Antonio Banderas and Melanie Griffith, who married in 1996 – however it is worth noting that it is neither of the couple’s first marriage.

The only celebrity marriage that I can think of that is still going strong, which was both parties first marriage – Jay Z and Beyonce Knowles – After 12 years  – they’re flying the flag of the celebrity ‘super power couple’ that are proving their critics wrong!

I remember sitting with my high school friends and listing couples that we saw to be ‘united’, ‘solid’ and ‘loving’, these couples we announced to each other, should they ever break up, have rumours of infidelity or let us down, it would prove that there is no hope out there for us!

The list was (oh how naive we were…)

  1. Posh and Becks
  2. Reese Witherspoon and Ryan Philippe
  3. Jennifer Anniston and Brad Pitt
  4. Tess Daly and Vernon Kay (British TV presenters)
  5. Jessica Simpson and Nick Lachey (I know, I knooowwww!!!)

 

Looking kinda ‘shady’ there Ryan… Just sayin!

Yup that was our top five couples… The five couples we truly believed had found ‘The One’, the couples that we would look up to forever as a shining example of true love… HOW WRONG WE WERE – Not one, not ONE, of the couples have seen out the past twelve years without infidelity rumours, divorces and two of the ‘golden couples’ have even remarried to other shining stars!

 

So as a test to myself and true love, I’ll list five couples that are together now that I would like to see still with their partners (notice i don’t say marriage, as in all honesty, I can’t for the life of my think of any!) in ten years time, question is, “Would you bet your bottom dollar on ANY of the below?”.

  1. Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
  2. Jennifer Anniston and Justin Theroux
  3. Jennifer Lawrence and Nicholas Hoult
  4. Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield
  5. Here’s a two-for-one for good measure: Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez (ahem) or Miley Cyrus and Liam Hemsworth

 

Ahhh young love… me…cynic?!

So am I being a cynic here? I’d love to know your thoughts…

Leave a comment