MOVIE REVIEW** Like Crazy

 

I went to see this film with little to no idea with regards to what the story line was, I kind of figured that the storyline would centre on a love story. I didn’t realise however how closely the story would mimic my current experience in more ways than one.

 

I’m sure there are many reading this that have memories of their first love, albeit that there are many of you that are no longer with that first love. I wonder, do you wonder what they’re doing now at all?

 

Where I come from back in the UK, four of my very close friends are still with their first loves, the person that they met at High School. They’re all married/ engaged/ have children/ are expecting a baby, and you know what I couldn’t be happier for them!

 

As you’re all aware, things didn’t work out with my first love. It was a life experience that I wouldn’t change for the world. I’m so glad things worked out the way that they did, and that I’m here to tell the tale. I can say for sure that when I started watching ‘Like Crazy’ I was intrigued as to how this tale of young lovers would pan out.

 

A love story is both a physical and emotional tale, one that can be deeply personal and heartbreaking for an audience to experience. Director Drake Doremus’ film Like Crazy beautifully illustrates how your first real love is as thrilling and blissful as it is devastating.

 

The tale follows British college student (Felicity Jones), who falls for her American classmate (Anton Yelchin) they embark on a passionate and life-changing journey only to be separated when she violates the terms of her visa.

 

Was interesting to watch this with my boy as he is looking for a new job and has 28 days until his visa is revoked! Pretty sure he thinks I took him to see this on purpose, ha!

 

Like Crazy is a quirky film that explores how a couple faces the real challenges of being together and of being apart. Winner of the Grand Jury Prize for Best Picture at the 2011 Sundance Film Festival and of the Special Jury Prize for Best Actress for Felicity Jones, Like Crazy depicts both the hopefulness and the heartbreak of love. Just don’t go to see it if you’re feeling a little fragile – you’ll be in bits!

 

 

Like Crazy is released in cinemas March 1.
Directed by: Drake Doremus
Starring: Felicity Jones, Anton Yelchin, Jennifer Lawrence
Rating: M
Runtime: 86 mins
Reviewer rating: 6/10

 

 

Cast:                    Anton Yelchin, Felicity Jones, Jennifer Lawrence, Charlie Bewley, Alex Kingston, Oliver Muirhead, Chris Messina, Finola Hughes, Ben York Jones, & Jamie Thomas King.

Leave a Reply

