**GIVEAWAY** Friends with Benefits – Feelings-free hook ups – is it a myth?!

 

This winners for this competition have now been selected – congratulations to Tammi, Abby, Lorna and Kirsty! I’ve notified you all via e-mail 🙂

Sorry I have been a little quiet of late, I thought I could make it up to you guys with a fabulous giveaway?? The lovely guys at Hausmann Communications asked me if I’d like to do a giveaway of the film called Friends with Benefits, they said they thought it would be perfect for my blog – I have to say I’m inclined to completely agree with them.

For those of you that read my blog religiously, since the beginning you’ll know that its question me and a whole host of single ladies often ask ourselves (and as a result often end up lying to ourselves about) you know who you are! 😉

I believe that woman are may more inclined to develop feelings when having ‘fun’ with a friend that happens to be the opposite sex. I believe in order for you to fall into bed with someone on more than one occasion (i.e. not a one night stand) you absolutely must be attracted to them in some way – I also believe that women are masters of kidding themselves that this isn’t the case.

I have been guilty of convincing myself that I’m happy just casually hooking up with the object of my affections, sometimes daydreaming that they’ll wake up one day and realise that I’m the one they want to be with and I’m different to the ‘other’ girls.. Yeah right! I’d mock horror if anyone would even suggest I was developing feelings for them?! How dare they?! (Probably because they know me better than I know myself!)

I won’t spoil the film for those of you that haven’t seen it, but suffice to say I don’t believe this kind of thing would EVER happen in real life, for one there is not a male out there that would mess Mila Kunis about!! Even if that male is Justin Timberlake, hot!

Suffice to say that I really do think that it’s a great film and is the ideal film to watch with a date (not the first date mind, you know how I feel about this!) There are jokes in there for both of you, eye candy for both of you and it’s not too gushy that you’d be accused of making him watch a chick flick. But my dear whatever you do, do not watch this with your sometime bedtime buddy and expect them to wake up and smell the coffee, because honey I’d bet my bottom dollar that it ain’t gna happen!

Let me leave you with this note that I stumbled across on this website ; just to further reinforce that it’s not you – its biology:

When do you know if you fancy someone? What does love do to your brain chemicals, and is falling in love just nature’s way to keep our species alive?

We call it love. It feels like love. But the most exhilarating of all human emotions is probably nature’s beautiful way of keeping the human species alive and reproducing.

With an irresistible cocktail of chemicals, our brain entices us to fall in love. We believe we’re choosing a partner. But we may merely be the happy victims of nature’s lovely plan.

The 3 stages of love

 

Helen Fisher of Rutgers University in the States has proposed 3 stages of love – lust, attraction and attachment. Each stage might be driven by different hormones and chemicals.

 Stage 1: Lust

This is the first stage of love and is driven by the sex hormones testosterone and oestrogen – in both men and women.

 Stage 2: Attraction

This is the amazing time when you are truly love-struck and can’t  think of little else. Scientists think that three main neurotransmitters are involved in this stage; adrenaline, dopamine and serotonin.

 Adrenaline

The initial stages of falling for someone activates your stress response, increasing your blood levels of adrenalin and cortisol. This has the charming effect that when you unexpectedly bump into your new love, you start to sweat, your heart races and your mouth goes dry.

Dopamine

Helen Fisher asked newly ‘love struck’ couples to have their brains examined and discovered they have high levels of the neurotransmitter dopamine. This chemical stimulates ‘desire and reward’ by triggering an intense rush of pleasure. It has the same effect on the brain as taking cocaine!

Fisher suggests “couples often show the signs of surging dopamine: increased energy, less need for sleep or food, focused attention and exquisite delight in smallest details of this novel relationship” .

Stage 3: Attachment

Oxytocin – The cuddle hormone

Oxytocin is a powerful hormone released by men and women during orgasm.

It probably deepens the feelings of attachment and makes couples feel much closer to one another after they have had sex. The theory goes that the more sex a couple has, the deeper their bond becomes…

Interesting huh?! I’ll leave you with a sneak peak at the stars of the file.

Pricing and availability

Friends with Benefits – available on DVD and Blu-ray 16th December

DVD – $29.95

Blu-ray – $33.70

To be in with a chance to win one of four copies of Friends with Benefits from Sony Pictures, simply tell me in 25 words or less who your ideal partner would be – dead or alive!

12 thoughts on “**GIVEAWAY** Friends with Benefits – Feelings-free hook ups – is it a myth?!

  1. Abby

    What was the question again? I got stuck on Tammi’s answer – I very much agree!
    If Franco is taken, I’d say my ideal partner would be Ryan Gosling – smart, sexy, unpretentious, just an all round good guy (did you see the street fight he broke up in NYC), and absolutely gorgeous too!

    Reply
  2. Lorna

    Someone who loves me for who I am, warts and all and who makes me a better person overall – whoever that is, is my perfect partner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

