FILM REVIEW – Bad Teacher

We all have had the experience at school when we forget that our teachers are in face human beings and have a life outside of work, I know I did anyway.

That was until recently when all of a sudden a large proportion of my friendship group have found themselves in the role of teacher in their adult lives. It amazes me that my best friends, the ones that I used to party with and bunk off lessons with, are now the ‘role models’ in positions of responsibility. The funny thing is, they’re all really good at it.

I’ve always said that I would never have the patience to become a teacher, so I really admire those that take on the role (however I must say that I believe that their main driving factor is the holidays!) ha!

I was recently given the opportunity by Sony Pictures Home Entertainment to review Bad Teacher, which is available on DVD across Australia on 23rd November 2011. I can totally imagine that I would handle the role in a similar (not the same – I do have manners and am not an ignorant self absorbed money grabber) way, in that my patience would wear thin very quickly
and there would be a LOT of movies shown in the lessons…

Elizabeth Halsey (Cameron Diaz) teacher who resents having to earn a living, to break away from her torturous live as a teacher, she plans to marry her wealthy fiancé, who promptly dumps her after he finds out that she spent $16,000 in one month (like that’s a bad thing?! Ha! I love to do that given the opportunity, my own money of course!).

The film proceeds to depict Halsey’s character in the role of the teacher as she tries to win over substitute teacher Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), who happens to be a heir to his family’s watch empire fortune. Hilarious Amy Squirrell (Lucy Punch) is fantastic in the role of the do-gooder (if not a little OCD psycho. Jason Segal sticks to what he knows best, the guy next door, friendly (If not a little geeky) gym teacher Russell Gettis (Jason Segel).

Cue cats fights and bitch fest ahoy as Elizabeth and Amy battle it out for Scott’s affections. The outcome is quite predictable, but I won’t ruin the fun for you guys! Aside from the car wash scene – def one for the boys or thinspiration 😉

Suffice to say that there are a few laugh out loud gags peppered throughout the film, enough to make this an easy-to-watch film when you’ve just got in from work – just don’t have the expectation that it’s going to become on of the ‘classics’.

Here’s the trailer to whet your Bad Teacher appetite:

Released across Australia on 23/11/11, it contains the following special features:

  • Boner
  • The Bachelor
  • Extended Russell Rejection
  • Way Behind The Scenes with Jason and Justin
  • Raising More Than Funds
Leave a Reply

