Marble Bar 118th Anniversary!

I’m sure by now you all know that I’m a PR by day, I haven’t really expanded on my area of expertise/ passion as it’s always good to leave a little bit to the imagination right?

 I can reveal that one of my favourite sectors to work within is travel, I began my career working for an international airline and thrived on the fast paced industry and of course the face that it enabled me to see the world. I was very lucky to be elected to host media famils to Antigua, Barbados and Moscow – my job to showcase the airline, once I got the destination it was my turn to sit back and enjoy and let the tourism authority take over whilst I went along for the ride. I look back very fondly of that time and the amazing sights I got to witness and take part in – swimming with Stingrays and rainforest canopy tours in Antigua, eating at The Cliff in Barbados and standing in the middle of St Basil’s Cathedral in Moscow in awe!

 This is where my passion to travel came from and is one of the factors as to how I ended up living and working in Sydney. If you’d have told me back then that in five years time I’d be living in Sydney, doing a job I love and blogging about my experiences I would’ve been a very happy girl!

 One of the great things about working in the PR industry is that literally everybody knows everybody and you also very quickly become aware of who is a master of their craft. When I was invited to the 118th birthday of Marble Bar by the new PR Manager, I knew that I would be in for a treat. (I’ve been to her events before and they never fail to impress). I had never heard of Marble Bar before, that was until I was taken there on a date the week before the event – funny how that happens isn’t it – never heard of somewhere then you end up there twice in one week.

 The thing that strikes me most about the bar is its sheer opulence and history. One of my friends who I took with me explained that it used to be THE place to be in the sixties, her mum described it as the place where you went to be seen, which in all honesty I find heartbreaking that it isn’t anymore. Once you see the bar you immediately wish that you’d known about it sooner, so it’s great that the PR Manager has been brought on board to raise the awareness of the venue that is, Marble Bar.

 Tucked underneath the Hilton Sydney like a secret den, the landmark Marble Bar is a funky musical hub in the heart of the city. It’s a setting to enjoy live artists in decadent surrounds and sample premium beers, fine wines and classic cocktails.

 With the overall design of the Hilton Sydney cool and contemporary, Marble Bar is a place to relive memories and create new ones.

 Loved by generations past and present, Marble Bar is a completely unique Sydney spot. Liza Minnelli, George Benson, Wyclef Jean, Eve, Kelly Rowland, Mischa Barton, Ewan McGregor (swoooooon), Adam Lambert and Slash have all partied amongst its breathtaking and original marble features. Local rockers Cold Chisel announced their comeback tour at Marble Bar just last month, revisiting the very scene of their 1979 album cover ‘Breakfast at Sweethearts’ which was photographed at the bar.

Marble Bar History

Marble Bar is now a designated national monument – the 118 year old Heritage-listed watering hole is architecturally breathtaking. The original George Adams Bar, named after its talented builder, was crafted costing the (then astronomical) sum of 32,000 pounds. The bar was relocated from Tattersall’s in 1973 and Hilton Sydney’s original architect J.H. Bryant assumed the role of Marble Bar historian having published several journal articles on the history of the bar.

In the following decades the bar hosted generations of international visitors and local revellers alike, yet the years took their toll. Smoke damage, staining and general wear and tear dulled the gleam of this world class masterpiece. As the Hilton Sydney underwent its own renovation, Marble Bar lay dormant, tucked underneath tonnes of concrete like a secret bunker ready to be unearthed. To restore the bar to its former glory was a labour of love, but each hand crafted column, rejuvenated cedar frame and perfectly shaped cornice now sparkles with renewed magnificence since its restoration in 2005.

Today patrons can enjoy the original 15th Century Italian Renaissance influence of the Marble Bar including 35 different varieties of Italian, Belgian and African marble as well as stained glass doors and ceilings, ornate carved bars of mahogany and a gallery of 14 Julian Ashton paintings valued at an estimated $1.6 million AUD. Marble Bar also features the four original fireplaces, which were restored piece by piece when the bar was moved from Tattersall’s.

 

About Hilton Hotels & Resorts

One of the most recognized names in the industry, Hilton Hotels & Resorts stands as the stylish, forward thinking global leader in hospitality. From inaugural balls and Hollywood award galas to business events and days to remember, Hilton is where the world makes history, closes the deal, toasts special occasions and gets away from it all. The flagship brand of Hilton Worldwide continues to build upon its legacy of innovation by developing products and services to meet the needs of tomorrow’s savvy global travelers while more than 144,000 Team Members shape experiences in which every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Today, the Hilton Hotels & Resorts portfolio includes more than 540 hotels in 78 countries and the brand remains synonymous with “hotel.”

Access the latest Hilton news at www.hiltonglobalmediacenter.com or begin your journey at www.hilton.com. Social media users can engage with Hilton at

www.twitter.com/hiltononline, www.facebook.com/hilton and www.youtube.com/hilton.

Hilton Hotels & Resorts is one of Hilton Worldwide’s ten market-leading brands. 

 

About Hilton Sydney

Aspire to Hilton Sydney…centrally located in Sydney CBD close to shopping and entertainment, Hilton Sydney offers 577 luxury accommodation rooms and suites plus four dedicated levels of conference and events space catering up to 3000 delegates. The hotel also features Luke Mangan’s renowned restaurant glass brasserie, the stylish and award-winning Zeta Bar, iconic Marble Bar and LivingWell Premier Health Club and Day Spa.

I’ll leave you with a few images from the event (cos I’m nice like that)…

One thought on “Marble Bar 118th Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

