Ever wanted to run your own bar??

I have always wanted to run my own bar, ever since my Auntie owned the local pub when I was younger. I have a vague memory of my third birthday, which had taken place at the pub – my two-year-old cousin and I decided to drink all the left over “dirty beer” in the pool room (a sign of things to come) when I leant over a little too far to grab a pint glass and fell over, promptly fracturing my collarbone in the process. My parents had some explaining to do that day when they took their three-year-old into A & E under the influence. (Disclaimer – my parents were actually amazing, this was a one-time slip, no need to call in child protective services, mostly as I’m now a 26-year-old woman and still find myself in similar predicaments!)

I found myself working at bars to support myself through college and uni to support my studies, these too were an eclectic mix: Local pub from 17 – 18, Holiday Inn Hotel from 18 – 19, Liverpool bars and clubs from 19 – 21 then cocktails bar in Manchester aged 23. I also found myself working at The Vault on Pitt Street when I first arrived in Australia to support my backpacker income 🙂 No don’t worry this isn’t a job application, just setting the scene (ok, ok I’ll get to the point)

Sooooo imagine my delight when the lovely guys at Polkadot PR contacted me to tell me about a brand new promotion they’re running with Drambuie, it is a competition called “The Premise”, which has launched nationally, visit www.thepremise.com.au

For the second year running in Australia, Drambuie is giving the opportunity to create and run their very own bar in Sydney. But this year they assure me that it will be BIGGER and BETTER with a unique bar setting, a secret location set to be announced very soon.

Inspired by Drambuie’s core values – risk, rebellion and mystery – participants are invited to design their own unique bar and entrants will go head to head in a competition to be judged by some of the industry’s best individuals to select THE WINNER. The information below describes how the competition works and presents the key dates from now until the big opening night on October 6.

The Premise will be announcing updates daily on: Facebook and Twitter so be sure to follow them.

Is it just me, or is there something really sexy about a bartender? Well apart from one loser who I used to work with, who for my sins I ended up dating for a while. One night after a shift we were helping ourselves to a beer after wed broken down the bar after a late shift. He hooked his iPod up to the speakers and proceeded to play a song from one of his favourite musicals’, only he didn’t just play the song, he serenaded me in the bar. I just wanted to ground to open up and swallow me! We didn’t last much longer after that.

On that note I’ll leave you with one of my favourite cocktail recipes that I used to make when working as a cocktail bartender in Manchester:

The Strawberry One (Courtesy of One lounge, West
Didsbury, UK
)

  • Place 3 chopped strawberries, 3 lime wedges, a dash
    of sugar syrup and a bar spoon on brown sugar into a Boston glass.
  • Muddle all the ingredients together
  • Add 1 ½ measure of alcohol and ½ measure of fraise liqueur
  • Add 3 measures of cranberry juice
  • Shake and strain over a Collins glass filled with crushed
    ice
  • Top off with soda water and a slice of strawberry and
    a lime wedge to garnish

Serve and enjoy 🙂

One thought on “Ever wanted to run your own bar??

  1. Joanna

    I can say that the strawberry one is 100% my favorite cocktail – but should come with a warning as crazy things can happen on a night of Strawberry ones, good or bad is your iinterpretation he he

    Reply

Leave a Reply

