The soundtrack to our lives

How is it that there are some songs out there that evoke certain emotional reactions when you listen to them. They have the ability to transport you to a previous time, frame/ state of mind and before you know it you feel like it is you who has written the song and it’s speaking to you.

I have experiences like this with many songs. Some of them standard, however perhaps quite embarrassingly there are the ones that should only be admitted using your inside voice. A prime example of this being: Rick Astley’s ‘Never Gonna Give you up’. As soon as I hear it I am instantly taken back to being a three-year-old princess running around my cousin’s pub (as opposed to a 26 year-old princess running round a pub). Whitney Houston’s Greatest Hits is another album that catapults me to being an insecure, heartbroken 16 year-old crying into my pillow the week after my first boyfriend told me we were ‘better of as mates.’

Most recently however there is an album out there at the moment that is causing a stir in the industry for all the right reasons. You may have heard of a ‘S’ath London Gal’ with a stunning voice, vibrant personality and astounding talent for writing lyrics that resonate with everyone that listens to it. Yes, the superstar I am referring to is Adele and the album that I am referring to is 21.

AMAZE!!

The album has recently broke the record in the UK for the longest run at number one in the album chart with a jaw dropping ten week stint! The previous album, 19 securely holding onto the number two slot. The previous record holder was Madonna for The Greatest Hits album that was released in 1990 – that secured the top slot for nine weeks.

It got me to thinking, what is it about music that resonates with your memories? It is certainly a gift to be able to write a song that is so relatable by so many people. With lyrics like the following it is perhaps not surprising:

“Nevermind, I’ll find someone like you, I wish nothing but the best for you, too, don’t forget me, I beg, I remember you said, “Sometimes it lasts in love, But sometimes it hurts instead.” – Adele, 21, Someone Like You

“Gave you the space so you could breathe, I kept my distance so you would be free, in hope that you’d find the missing piece, to bring you back to me.” – Adele, 21, Don’t you remember

My lovely girlies and I have spent many occasions reminiscing over a glass bottle or two three of vodka (just jokes) with musicians as the audio backdrop to our chats.

We’ve even gone on car journeys, wound the windows down and turned the music right up as we blast out Bad Romance by Lady Gaga to all passersby whilst screaming the lyrics as if we were singing them to said d*** head of the moment. You know!

“I want your loving, and I want your revenge, you and me could write a bad romance (Oh-oh-oh-oh-oooh!) I want your loving, all your love is revenge, you and me could write a bad romance” Lady Gaga, Bad Romance

I often find my mind wandering to thoughts of my break up with my ex when I listen to songs that refer to heartache and loves lost, not because I would ever want to be back with him, but as it is the only real experience that I have had of a painful break-up. We’ve all been there and it’s not a nice feeling. Yet, we still listen to these songs over and over again. When I mentioned Adele’s 21 to my lovely friend Jenny, she said that she loves it but can’t listen to it without crying into her pillow – so funny but also tragically true.

I’ll leave you this time with a sample of the stunning vocals for you to see for yourself.

Adele performing at The Brtis

Leave a Reply

