Potential dating disaster – Sod’s law why do you mock me?!

Don’t you just love it when a blast from the past saunters into your life (that you had all but written off as they’re now in the ‘friend zone’) asking if they can see you. Well I was graced with this situation at the beginning of this week.

Here I was sat at my desk working away with Facebook minimised at the bottom of my screen (well you never know who’s going to pop online do you?!).  I was very busy doing a very important media sell-in being all PR’y and stuff, so didn’t notice the Facebook tab change to flash “New message from”.

Now I don’t know if I’m in the minority here, I really don’t think that I am, but do you guys get that little lurch in your stomach wondering “who could this be?! Who is this messaging me at this time?!” Don’t get me wrong more often than not it’s one of my lovely friends, who I’m actually going to be seeing in three hours, who I was also with last night just saying “hey!” which is very lovely of course! Every so often however, I get a little pleasant surprise.

It just so happened that on this occasion it was one of the moments, hallelujah! Message from Liam (name changed)  saying… “Happy new year, you around for a catch up this week?” Huuraahhhh – Cue my head spinning, what does he want, he’s just been home to New Zealand and what could he possibly want to talk about?? Maybe the fact that he’s been home, realised that after two years, I am the one for him and he doesn’t want to waste anymore time?!

Of course I’m kidding, I didn’t think that at all, just jokes for banter for you guys…ahem…

So I quickly, cool as a cucumber sent him an e-mail five twenty minutes later casually stating that I was mega busy, missed his message, that I was free and for him to let me know when suited him. He came back straight away (which is very unlike him) asking if I was free that night? Talk about keen!

It actually happened that I wasn’t free that night, but had sooo much on I didn’t get back to him, I’d love to say on purpose as I am way too cool for school, it was in fact because I had a WIP all afternoon so couldn’t have replied if I wanted to.

I was in work the next day, just had my breakfast and replied to him apologising for not getting back to him and asked when he was next free. He got back straight away again saying he wasn’t free any other night, that Monday was his only night. Gutted! So wrote back saying “no worries, next week was probably better for me anyway.” Cue an e-mail at 4pm that afternoon, “free tnght?!” Which I was actually was! Yyippeeee! I explained that we were having a Mexican at our house and that he was more than welcome to come round.

I couldn’t quite believe that after a wall of silence he was being so proactive, it was a pleasant change, but didn’t stop my head from dreaming up fantasies about him sweeping me off my feet and telling me it was always me, I digress!

So we made arrangements, he was going to come to mine from Bondi Junction at 6:30. That was until I got a text from him at 5:15, obviously upon reflection saying “I’ve had a think actually I’d rather catch up when it’s just me and you so we can have a proper chat, lets rearrange for another night?” The plot thickens.

I was totally fine with that as I wasn’t looking my best anyway, so had a lovely evening with my housemates eating fajitas and drinking wine, Olay!

The next morning I woke up in somewhat of a daze, too much wine on a school night, less than ideal! I scraped my hair back, slapped some mascara on and threw on some skinny jeans and a vest – not looking my best by any means! I couldn’t help but think though that I wasn’t  going to see anyone I’m trying to impress anyway and I’m off to the gym at lunch, so all good.

I was running v late and wanted to make a good impression this year in the office, no one wants to be known as the girl that’s always late so I literally sprinted 100 meters to the bus stop with flip flops on (BTW – how fast can you run in flip flops seriously, not the hard bottomed kind, the ones with the sponge, you know what I mean. They’re like little trampolines attached to your feet as you make a break for the finish line a la Linford Christie). Arms were flailing everywhere, sweat was beginning to appear on my brow, never a good look!

I just got to the bus stop as the bus pulled up, out of breath, looking rather pink and shiny I boarded the bus. I took a quick scan around, there were no seats, damn!

I moved right to the back of the bus as our bus is the one that is always packed, I wasn’t in the mood to be screamed at by the bus driver to “move to the back of the bus love” over and over again. As I made the wobbly journey to the back of the bus I heard someone shout my name. Wait, they can’t have! No-one I know gets this bus, or do they?! I look up, low and behold who is standing there in all of his beautiful, manly, suited and booted glory, oh yeah that’s right, Liam! What are the chances?

Quite high apparently, as he now lives in Woollahra and gets this bus every day. Course he does!!!! Mental note to self: find a different way to get to work, bloody well hitchhike if you have to.

I managed to put my game face on and mock surprised happiness to see him, cue general chit chat about our Xmas and New Year, his trip back home etc etc. Meanwhile I’m sure that my face resembles the River Mersey and I’m getting pinker by the minute. We somehow get onto the conversation of when we’re going to meet up, I suggest my housemates birthday party on Friday, drinks in the city and then party at mine.

Liam asked if he could bring a friend, I take this as a good sign, but also judge him slightly for still wanting to see me after this encounter.  So we chat all the way from Paddington to St Leonards and we get off the bus at the same stop. As I made my bid for freedom (and to assess the damage my appearance had no doubt caused), Liam shouts, “def get on the email banter today!” To which I shout, “of course, speak in a bit.”

Only it’s now two days later, I’ve e-mailed him and haven’t got a response. Now I know I’m my own worst enemy when it comes to analysing situations but I can’t help but think that whatever it was he was going to talk to me about is no longer valid after that bus journey.

I’d love to hear your thoughts… also I’ll keep you updated with any progress, replies/ other chance encounters.

One thought on “Potential dating disaster – Sod’s law why do you mock me?!

  1. Pingback: Three’s a crowd « Dating101Sydney's Blog

Leave a Reply

