Hunter Valley – Wine, chocolate, cheese and sunshine… me likey!

I had such a great weekend, typical of Sydney – a weekend away here involves tours around stunning wineries in the 30 degree heat whilst sampling the best wine that the Hunter has to offer. (A little bit different to my weekends away back home to Liverpool, with the highlight being 5 flavoured vodka shots for a tenner!)

After a lovely day drinking wine and eating the most amazing cheeses I nipped to my local, The Royal at Five Ways in Paddington, for a drink in the evening with my housemates. This pub is quintessentially ‘English’, a bar with bags of atmosphere, locals propping up the bar and even pints… The Sydney side of the pub comes out as you venture up the four floors to the roof top terrace, the views from the top are a panoramic view of Sydney city, Rushcutters Bay and Rose Bay – simply stunning! I found myself making a mental note that this would be an ideal date location to bring future datees/ victims… just jokes!

After a glass or two of sparkling I decided to venture back home. At about 10pm I received a call from a guy that I’ve been casually seeing asking what I was up to and if I wanted to meet him out in the city. Now as lovely as it was to hear from him, (he is gorgeous, six foot four, dark hair, dark eyes, half English half Maltese and Australian born and bred – a good hybrid!) I couldn’t help but feel a pang of disappointment that he hadn’t been in touch earlier, unless you count 4am the previous morning… sensing a theme here, hmmmm!

I decided to not meet him as I’d had a lovely day and was happy to have shock, horror a Saturday night in! I then got another call from him at 2am asking what I was up to (if he must know I was asleep infront of the sofa with my pjs and a facemask on, sexy huh!)… I didn’t tell him that of course!

Now I don’t think there is anything wrong with a booty call, I think if you’re both on the same page and looking for the same thing, there is no harm at all. However, if one of you is starting to get feelings for the other and is hoping to turn these rendezvous into a relationship, you’re on shaky ground.

Don’t get me wrong, there are exceptions for sure with regards to casual couples turning into something different, but there is almost always a catalyst to make this happen. Whether it’s distance (making the heart grow fonder, or missing the action – you decide), someone else on the scene or a life changing event (the prospect of your squeeze moving to the other side of the world can change even the best players out there into clingathons!).

More often than not though, one will develop stronger feelings and try and secure a pre-planned date or ‘drinks’, which is obviously a date masquerading as a ‘casual catch-up’ – Step away from the phone/ Facebook/ e-mail and just don’t do it!  It’s not worth the hurt as you realise that he just doesn’t see you as GF material (why would he when he’s had his cake and eaten it too for as long as you’ve been seeing each other!)

So I’m pondering, am I starting to want something more from this? If so, I need to take my own advice and back away as I’m only going to end up getting hurt!

Thoughts?!

4 thoughts on “Hunter Valley – Wine, chocolate, cheese and sunshine… me likey!

  1. Pingback: Crush for ten years – what are the chances of meeting him this side of the pond?! « Dating101Sydney's Blog

  2. Pingback: Three’s a crowd « Dating101Sydney's Blog

Leave a Reply

